mathewpower.net

Computers, security, politics, freedom… and whatever else

Busy…

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted here. Life has been fairly busy. Between my work schedule changing back to shifts for a few weeks, studying for my Security+ certification exam, going to Toronto to visit friends and family and trying to relax when possible I just haven’t had time to post. As such, a few updates are in order.

First and most importantly, I passed my Security+ exam on March 17th! I am now Security+ certified and simply waiting for the certification to arrive in the mail. Time to update my goals list! I’ve taken a short break from studying but I think soon it’ll be time to start working toward another certification.

As mentioned above, I went to Toronto recently, primarily to see my doctor, though also to attend the TIFF Game of Thrones Exhibition at the Bell Lightbox. While in town I also got to see some friends and of course hang out with my family.

Unfortunately on my way back I dropped my new Galaxy Nexus and the screen cracked. It was severely disappointing as in about ten years I haven’t once dropped a phone on a hard surface. I’ve already dropped this one twice. Regretting turning down Bell’s service plan now. I have been a little lazy about getting it fixed because it will be pricey and because the crack is primarily in the bottom right corner of the phone, so while it’s frustrating that the phone broke, it’s still very usable.

In other Game of Thrones news, season 2 is well under way and season 3 has been given the green light! I still need to watch the second episode of season 2, will likely get around to that later this week.

Not too much else going on really. Went back to the GTA for Easter weekend, it was my grandmothers 90th birthday on the 2nd so we had a big party for her. Easter Sunday my nephew sadly had a seizure (he has epilepsy). It was a little scary but now my entire family knows what to do if it happens when he’s with us alone (this is the first time he’s had one since he had two in one day a couple years ago and was originally diagnosed, so none of us really knew how to handle it). Finally, I’m also done with shift work at the end of April, my boss offered me permanent days, so I’m looking forward to that!

Whew! That was a lot of nothing to get through, most of which no one probably even cares about! Hopefully I can keep on top of things a little better now :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

